Wikipedia founder: “Free the curriculum!”

In a blog post from Aug 3 2005 that, as of today (Oct 14 2006), has 35 comments and 12 trackbacks, Jimmy Wales, founder of Wikipedia and the Wikimedia project, issues a call to “Free the Curriculum.”

In a post on Aug 1 2005, Wales explained his plan to present “Ten Things That Will Be Free”

I will be presenting the ten things over the next ten days, but I will let you in on a little secret. I haven’t finished the list. In true collaborative style, I want to invite you to participate in the finalization and formation of the list.

The ground rules are: I am talking about free in the sense of GNU, that is: free as in speech, not free as in beer. I was talking to someone about this concept recently who suggested “health care”. That’s not the sort of thing I’m talking about. Think: GNU/Linux. Think: Wikipedia.

For each of the ten, I will try to give some basic (and hopefully not too ambiguous) definitions for what it will mean for each of them to be “solved”, and we can all check back for the next 25 or 50 years to see how we are doing.

What are the ten things that will be free?

The first seven things I have chosen, and I will post one per day for the next seven days. The final three are up to you. You tell me…

What should be free?

What will be free?

Jimbo’s plan has not been fully realized. He posted only the first two:

  1. Free the Encyclopedia! [Aug 2], and
  2. Free the Curriculum! [Aug 3]

My only point in relating this is to show how important the curriculum agenda is in Jimmy Wales’ thinking. This interest is particularly understandable in light of the article on Jimmy Wales in Wikipedia.

One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] the founder of Wikipedia has suggested such an argument, in his call to “Free the curriculum!” . (That link is for a post on my public curricublog. If you want to make a comment for our class on […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

